Administrative tasks

Learn more about the following administrative tasks:

Update your user profile

You can update your user name, email, and password.

  1. Choose Profile from the user admin menu in the top-right corner of the UI.

  2. Change your user name and/or email address and click Submit.

  3. To change your password, click Change Password. Type your old and new passwords into the appropriate fields, confirm your new password, and click Submit.

    1. You will receive an email confirming that you have reset your password.

Delete your user profile

Deleting your user profile removes your account and any associated personal information (name, email) from the system. You will no longer be able to sign in to the Appliance Service.

  1. Choose Profile from the user admin menu in the top-right corner of the UI.

  2. Click Delete and confirm that you want to delete your profile.

Manage users

Only users with Admin privileges can add, manage, and delete users.

Change user role

By default, new users are given the User role. To change a user’s role:

  1. Choose Users from the user admin menu in the top-right corner of the UI.

  2. In the Change User Role area, choose a user from the drop-down list.

  3. Choose User or Admin from the Role list and click Update.

Delete a user

Deleting a user removes their account and any associated personal information (name, email) from the system. They will no longer be able to sign in to the Appliance Service.

  1. Choose Users from the user admin menu in the top-right corner of the UI.

  2. Find the user you want to delete and click Delete beside their name, then confirm deletion.

The user is automatically logged out of any ongoing session(s).

Resend an account activation email

Links to activate an OpenNMS account expire after seven days. If a user does not activate their account within that time, you can resend the activation email.

  1. Choose Users from the user admin menu in the top-right corner of the UI.

  2. Click Resend Activation Email beside the name of the user whose link expired.

Unlock a locked user

After ten failed attempts to sign in, users are locked out of their account and receive a lockout notification email. Admin users can unlock users who have been locked out:

  1. Choose Users from the user admin menu in the top-right corner of the UI.

  2. Click Unlock User beside the name of the locked-out user.

Manage subscriptions

Your subscription associates Minion Appliances with your organization. You can view your subscription (including total inventory and appliances in use), activate and unactivate appliances, and audit them.

  1. In the left menu, click Subscription.

  2. From the Available Appliances list, choose an appliance and click Activate Appliance.

    1. To remove an appliance, click the x beside its name in the Activated Appliances area.

  3. Click View Audit to see the history of changes to the subscription.

Manage connectivity profiles

A connectivity profile specifies how the Minion communicates with OpenNMS. It includes the URL of the message broker (Kafka or Active MQ) and the user name and password with which to connect to the broker. You must create the Minion user name and password in OpenNMS (see user creation and configuration in the main OpenNMS user docs.).

To edit, manage, or delete connectivity profiles, click the pencil icon next to the instance that you want to update. You can then select the profile to be associated with the instance from the Profile (optional) drop-down menu.

Configuration changes to a connectivity profile respawns all Minions associated with that profile. This process triggers a brief service interruption.

For information on how to manage feature profiles, see feature profiles.

src="https://polyfill.io/v3/polyfill.min.js?features=es6">